Forums

Unfortunately no one can be told what FluxBB is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-07-16 22:23:39

Recognition
Member
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2017-01-20
Posts: 79
Website

How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

https://www.allr6.com/discuss/

Is it possible for me to migrate things to a new web host easily? How? I can of course backup everything via ftp, but will I end up breaking a ton of paths. I set my forums up 4 years ago and I barely remember how now but lol hence why I'm here. If anyone can provide instructions <3


Is it easy to do this?

I have backed up my directory from my current web host.
Exported the MySQL databse into a .sql from PhpMyAdmin.

Now what?

Do I create a new database (with the same name?) on the new web host
then import the saved database .sql
overwrite folder with my latest backed up folder?

Or

create a new database,
install default FluxBB,
import old database,
overwrite folder with my latest backed up folder?


v1.5.10

Somewhat confused!


Also if I was to upgrade the version would it break things?

Last edited by Recognition (2020-09-10 00:49:11)

Offline

#2 2020-07-17 08:49:38

Franz
Lead developer
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 6,719
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

Assuming this is a relatively unmodified installation, you need to move the following:

- the source code (I would suggest using the ones from the server)
- the database
- user uploads (in a normal FluxBB, this is only user avatars) - should be included when you copy the source folder

If you decide to go for a fresh install on the new server instead, you should use the same FluxBB version that runs on your old server.

Good luck!


fluxbb.de | develoPHP

"As code is more often read than written it's really important to write clean code."

Offline

#3 2020-09-03 23:24:16

Recognition
Member
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2017-01-20
Posts: 79
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

I migrated my board mostly successfully except I'm getting this error, any idea why?

Deprecated: Function create_function() is deprecated in /homepages/39/d701392084/htdocs/discuss/include/parser.php on line 850

As far as I know I updated the  base url properly both in config.php and the phpmyadmin.

Hmm...

Last edited by Recognition (2020-09-04 01:16:39)

Offline

#4 2020-09-04 01:22:52

Visman
Member
From: Siberia
Registered: 2010-07-10
Posts: 1,383
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

FluxBB v 1.5.11 not work with PHP 7.2+

Offline

#5 2020-09-04 01:25:36

Recognition
Member
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2017-01-20
Posts: 79
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

v1.5.10 is my version and PHP version is 7.3 and I've tried 7.4

I started also getting
Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /homepages/39/d701392084/htdocs/discuss/include/common.php:76) in /homepages/39/d701392084/htdocs/discuss/header.php on line 30

after I changed the php version in cpanel

Last edited by Recognition (2020-09-04 01:27:23)

Offline

#6 2020-09-04 01:30:05

Visman
Member
From: Siberia
Registered: 2010-07-10
Posts: 1,383
Website

Offline

#7 2020-09-04 02:08:00

Recognition
Member
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2017-01-20
Posts: 79
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

Oh, should I download that new version of parser.php from the github and replace it on my server?

Offline

#8 2020-09-04 02:14:50

Visman
Member
From: Siberia
Registered: 2010-07-10
Posts: 1,383
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

Offline

#9 2020-09-04 02:15:52

Visman
Member
From: Siberia
Registered: 2010-07-10
Posts: 1,383
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

But first you need to make backups of the forum database and directory.

Offline

#10 2020-09-04 02:18:09

Recognition
Member
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2017-01-20
Posts: 79
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function generate_smiley_cache() in /homepages/39/d701392084/htdocs/discuss/include/parser.php:52 Stack trace: #0 /homepages/39/d701392084/htdocs/discuss/profile.php(1061): require() #1 {main} thrown in /homepages/39/d701392084/htdocs/discuss/include/parser.php on line 52

oops.

got this when i was clicking on a members name

Offline

#11 2020-09-04 21:14:16

Recognition
Member
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2017-01-20
Posts: 79
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

After migrated to new host I cant LOGOUT of the forums lol is it a cookie issue?

$cookie_name = 'pun_cookie_42d631';
$cookie_domain = '';
$cookie_path = '/';
$cookie_secure = 1;
$cookie_seed = '5e29a6a0c189879e';

am i supposed to edit this on config.php file to something else since its on a new server? is that why? hmmm

Offline

#12 2020-09-05 03:28:18

Visman
Member
From: Siberia
Registered: 2010-07-10
Posts: 1,383
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

Your site still doesn't work over https.
Until you get https to work, you cannot use

$cookie_secure = 1;

Offline

#13 2020-09-05 13:57:42

Recognition
Member
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2017-01-20
Posts: 79
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

Ok I will edit that and I will contact web host to figure out why https isnt working

ps. editing the cookiesecure to 0, now I can LOGOUT properly haha. Excellent thank you for that

Last edited by Recognition (2020-09-05 20:50:14)

Offline

#14 2020-09-08 14:23:29

Recognition
Member
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2017-01-20
Posts: 79
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

Should I changed my base url to https now that I have set up SSL

Offline

#15 2020-09-08 14:53:42

Visman
Member
From: Siberia
Registered: 2010-07-10
Posts: 1,383
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

http, www?     http://allr6.com/discordsmall.png
http           http://www.allr6.com/favicon.ico
404 error      https://www.allr6.com/discuss/style/imports/pms.css 

Offline

#16 2020-09-10 00:40:32

Recognition
Member
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2017-01-20
Posts: 79
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

Hey Vis, I think I fixed those errors today. https://allr6.com

The only thing I haven't yet fixed is the apms error on the inbox page above the username

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /homepages/39/d701392084/htdocs/discuss/pms_inbox.php on line 282

but whatever.

and functions.php create_function deprecated error for this line

$replaced = preg_replace_callback($pattern, create_function('$matches', 'return '.$replace.';'), $subject);

needs to be fixed too but that should be it really i think

Last edited by Recognition (2020-09-10 00:46:13)

Offline

#17 2020-09-10 02:38:11

Visman
Member
From: Siberia
Registered: 2010-07-10
Posts: 1,383
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

https://github.com/fluxbb/fluxbb/blob/m … .php#L2058

Compare ucp_preg_replace() function with your function in include/functions.php file.

Offline

#18 2020-09-12 22:37:26

Recognition
Member
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2017-01-20
Posts: 79
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

i should change:
$replaced = preg_replace_callback($pattern, create_function('$matches', 'return '.$replace.';'), $subject);

with:
$replaced = preg_replace_callback($pattern, $replace, $subject);

or

$replaced = preg_replace_callback($pattern, $matches, return, $replace, $subject);

?

Offline

#19 2020-09-13 02:15:05

Visman
Member
From: Siberia
Registered: 2010-07-10
Posts: 1,383
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

Replace ucp_preg_replace() function with

function ucp_preg_replace($pattern, $replace, $subject, $callback = false)
{
	if ($callback)
		$replaced = preg_replace_callback($pattern, $replace, $subject);
	else
		$replaced = preg_replace($pattern, $replace, $subject);

	// If preg_replace() returns false, this probably means unicode support is not built-in, so we need to modify the pattern a little
	if ($replaced === false)
	{
		if (is_array($pattern))
		{
			foreach ($pattern as $cur_key => $cur_pattern)
				$pattern[$cur_key] = str_replace('\p{L}\p{N}', '\w', $cur_pattern);

			$replaced = preg_replace($pattern, $replace, $subject);
		}
		else
			$replaced = preg_replace(str_replace('\p{L}\p{N}', '\w', $pattern), $replace, $subject);
	}

	return $replaced;
}

Offline

#20 2020-09-15 15:31:54

Recognition
Member
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2017-01-20
Posts: 79
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

Awe now I'm getting

Warning: preg_replace_callback(): Requires argument 2, 'stripslashes($matches[1].$matches[2].$matches[3].$matches[4]).handle_url_tag($matches[5]."://".$matches[6], $matches[5]."://".$matches[6], true).stripslashes($matches[4].forum_array_key($matches, 10).forum_array_key($matches, 11).forum_array_key($matches, 12))', to be a valid callback in /homepages/39/d701392084/htdocs/discuss/include/functions.php on line 2073

Offline

#21 2020-09-15 15:48:54

Visman
Member
From: Siberia
Registered: 2010-07-10
Posts: 1,383
Website

Re: How can I migrate my 1.5.10 forums to a new host without losing things

Compare your parser from the include/parser.php file with the parser https://github.com/fluxbb/fluxbb/blob/m … parser.php

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB