Forums

Unfortunately no one can be told what FluxBB is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

#1 2016-07-30 19:00:37

Blueeyez
Member
Registered: 2016-04-04
Posts: 107
Website

Set a topic as sticky, but give it a position..

It would be nice if FluxBB gave an option to set a level of a sticky thread in a forum.. like we can with forums in category..

Offline

#2 2016-07-31 13:08:31

Franz
Lead developer
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 6,639
Website

Re: Set a topic as sticky, but give it a position..

Level as in position?


fluxbb.de | develoPHP

"As code is more often read than written it's really important to write clean code."

Offline

#3 2016-07-31 15:58:36

Blueeyez
Member
Registered: 2016-04-04
Posts: 107
Website

Re: Set a topic as sticky, but give it a position..

Yes smile

Offline

#4 2016-07-31 15:59:31

Blueeyez
Member
Registered: 2016-04-04
Posts: 107
Website

Re: Set a topic as sticky, but give it a position..

Level 1 is the one that is first, then Level 2 is the next and Level 3 is the third topic you would see on the forum

Offline

#5 2016-08-01 01:44:42

Franz
Lead developer
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 6,639
Website

Re: Set a topic as sticky, but give it a position..

The typical sort order for forum is by last post. That means the sticky with the most recent last post will be shown first, so you can control the order they appear in by replying to them in the reverse order that you want them to be listed. It would probably make sense to lock the topic after doing that, too.

(You can control the sort order for a forum in Admin -> Forums -> Edit.)


fluxbb.de | develoPHP

"As code is more often read than written it's really important to write clean code."

Offline

#6 2016-08-01 16:09:24

Blueeyez
Member
Registered: 2016-04-04
Posts: 107
Website

Re: Set a topic as sticky, but give it a position..

the sorting order for forums i know of and whats why i miss i for topics wink

Offline

#7 2016-08-02 01:57:09

Franz
Lead developer
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 6,639
Website

Re: Set a topic as sticky, but give it a position..

But what would you want a topic to be sorted by?


fluxbb.de | develoPHP

"As code is more often read than written it's really important to write clean code."

Offline

#8 2016-08-02 13:22:18

Blueeyez
Member
Registered: 2016-04-04
Posts: 107
Website

Re: Set a topic as sticky, but give it a position..

Sorted by a number.. Like i can with a forum or category.. in general all topics is sorted with or 999 and would therefor be sorted by the activity.. but some topics i want to be static and in static order..

Offline

#9 2016-08-04 11:57:38

chris98
Member
From: England, United Kingdom
Registered: 2013-05-31
Posts: 1,292
Website

Re: Set a topic as sticky, but give it a position..

So how would you add this number to the topic? Sorting by the number is not an issue, but the issue I see is how you set this number for each topic. What if you had 100,000 topics?

Offline

#10 2016-08-04 13:54:24

Blueeyez
Member
Registered: 2016-04-04
Posts: 107
Website

Re: Set a topic as sticky, but give it a position..

They would as default all have number 0 like forums.. when you create a topic if moderator/admin you should have option next by make sticky to set a value.. if you were a normal user you wont have this option..

so if i edit a topic i can change the value of it..

Offline

#11 2016-08-05 09:03:52

chris98
Member
From: England, United Kingdom
Registered: 2013-05-31
Posts: 1,292
Website

Re: Set a topic as sticky, but give it a position..

This is tricky to do, because you need a new form in the moderator bar menu and submit button for it to submit the form. It's easy enough to do, but will be very time consuming.

First, you'll need to alter the database structure of the table 'topics' and add in another column for it with the default value of zero. Next, in post.php you'll have to add a new option next to the 'sticky' one for your value.

In admin_forums.php, you'll need a new option in the dropdown for sorting topics to your value and then in moderate.php you'll need some code for editing the value. I think this is about it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB