Forums

Unfortunately no one can be told what FluxBB is - you have to see it for yourself.

You are not logged in.

#26 2010-05-06 10:49:57

Franz
Lead developer
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 6,742
Website

Re: Using Git

Paul wrote:

On thing I can't understand is why the commit list on Gitorious didn't simply number the commits in the list.  Not the same as revisions I know but it would have simplified referring to a particular commit.

That's due to Git's distributed nature. Imagine me pushing a series of (older) commits the moment you are referring to, say, revision 1583. Suddenly, as I pushed older commits, too, it becomes revision 1585.

That's why revision numbers don't work in Git.


fluxbb.de | develoPHP

"As code is more often read than written it's really important to write clean code."

Offline

#27 2010-05-06 11:03:42

Paul
Developer
From: Wales, UK
Registered: 2008-04-27
Posts: 1,653

Re: Using Git

Fair enough.  They could have implemented some more user friendly labelling system though e.g. labelling a commit as Franz(39) or whatever.


The only thing worse than finding a bug is knowing I created it in the first place.

Offline

#28 2010-05-06 11:18:48

Franz
Lead developer
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 6,742
Website

Re: Using Git

Same problem. I don't have to push everything (and not to every repository). tongue


fluxbb.de | develoPHP

"As code is more often read than written it's really important to write clean code."

Offline

#29 2010-05-06 12:52:14

zaher
Member
From: Damascus, Syria
Registered: 2008-07-12
Posts: 126
Website

Re: Using Git

CVS and GIT have this problem about revision number, i feel when the world using GIT they make backward step.

However, I think GIT server must has a Remote ID for every commit, done by hooks or similar thing.

Offline

#30 2010-05-06 16:53:25

ridgerunner
Member
Registered: 2008-06-24
Posts: 183
Website

Re: Using Git

msysgit works great for me.

To have git ignore files, simply add them to the .gitignore file in the root folder.
(BTW - .gitignore should probably itself be included in the .gitignore file)

Offline

#31 2010-05-29 13:08:18

viktor
Member
Registered: 2008-07-18
Posts: 14

Re: Using Git

Plazzmex wrote:

I don't like the idea of installing some software to track the changes.
Just want to go to the website and see the changes.
But http://gitorious.org/fluxbb/fluxbb/commits/master is good enough so I will try to get used to it..

fortunately the VCS is (mainly) for developers, not for users, so your opinion doesn't have a big importance.

Offline

#32 2010-05-31 18:42:04

Mpok
Member
From: France
Registered: 2008-05-12
Posts: 389

Re: Using Git

Hey devs,

3+1 questions (the first three are related) :

1) How can i see if there is diffs (with date and file infos at least) BEFORE launching a pull ?
2) Is there a command to see what files will be affected BEFORE doing a "git pull" ? (pretty the same question as 1, just differently answered).
3) How can i found locally my last pull's date ?

4) Is there a way to do a "git pull" excepting one file (or several ones) ?

Offline

#33 2010-05-31 18:47:06

Franz
Lead developer
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 6,742
Website

Re: Using Git

To answer number one and two:

Either you check the Gitorious commit log or you execute

git fetch

That command only fetches the changes without committing them to your repository so that you can preview them.


fluxbb.de | develoPHP

"As code is more often read than written it's really important to write clean code."

Offline

#34 2010-05-31 19:04:13

Mpok
Member
From: France
Registered: 2008-05-12
Posts: 389

Re: Using Git

Franz wrote:

That command only fetches the changes without committing them to your repository so that you can preview them.

Thanks Franz !
(i'm just a rookie in git, so forgive me about stupid questions ; i should had founded that one myself... so simple..).

Offline

#35 2010-06-01 14:33:02

ridgerunner
Member
Registered: 2008-06-24
Posts: 183
Website

Re: Using Git

The only stupid questions are those that you don't ask!

Offline

#36 2010-06-26 08:10:37

François
Member
From: Lyon (France)
Registered: 2009-09-01
Posts: 197
Website

Re: Using Git

Reines wrote:

PS. Please use the bug tracker from now on

I would be nice if you hadn't to create an account on Git, just use the one we use here, on this board hmm


Sorry for my English, I'm French

Offline

#37 2010-06-26 08:22:04

Franz
Lead developer
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 6,742
Website

Re: Using Git

François wrote:
Reines wrote:

PS. Please use the bug tracker from now on

I would be nice if you hadn't to create an account on Git, just use the one we use here, on this board hmm

What? Try this one: http://fluxbb.org/development/roadmap/


fluxbb.de | develoPHP

"As code is more often read than written it's really important to write clean code."

Offline

#38 2010-06-26 08:27:56

François
Member
From: Lyon (France)
Registered: 2009-09-01
Posts: 197
Website

Re: Using Git

Mea culpa maxi culpa, I often go to this page to follow the road-map but never saw the "Submit new ticket" sad


Sorry for my English, I'm French

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB